RIP Zoe

Zoe Smiling

I made the decision this morning to take my rescue-beardie Zoe to be euthanized. I was going to say “the difficult decision,” but it wasn’t, really. She’s been failing for some time, and went downhill very rapidly in the last couple of days. She was barely eating or drinking, had lost control of bladder and bowels, and was resisting being asked to get up even to pee, let alone for a walk. I could have let her sleep her days out in a diaper, but there didn’t seem much point, especially when I could see she was in pain. So the deed is done. She went to sleep, gently, with her head in my lap and me telling her what a good wee girlie she was.

I only knew her for just over a year, but she was a sweet, darling dog, and I shall miss her greatly.

5 Responses

  1. Difficult decision… Memories! I really feel for you! All the best…..

  2. Take care of yourself. No an easy time. Be patient and cherish the good moments.

  3. Ahh, you have my sympathy. You took her into your heart and gave her a great final year.

Leave a Reply

