Certainty

I am certain of nothing but the holiness of the heart’s affections and the truth of the imagination (John Keats)

My creative writing students are a passionate bunch, and many of them are activists and advocates of causes. Last night, I asked them to think about things they are _not_ certain of, because they seem so confident in their beliefs, and I like to get them to mix things up a bit.

That, of course, made me wonder about what I AM certain of…

I am certain of warmth, and light, and laughter
I am certain of bread, and wine, and clear water
I am certain of friendship
I am certain of the love of my animals, of the new growth of plants in springtime, of the heat of the sun.
I am certain of poetry, of beauty, of the possibility of joy
I am certain of cruelty, of injustice, of humanity’s potential for brutality,
But I am also certain of redemption, of hope,

of love.

One Response

  1. I love this post… I am certain you move me with your photographs and words….

    From a friend

Leave a Reply

