November Blogging Challenge!

Help me and my students raise money for the United Way!

November is writing month, and many people around the world are taking part in challenges to write every day for thirty days. The best known of these is NaNoWriMo, but my English 152 (Creative Nonfiction) students and I have agreed to try Nablopomo: National Blog Posting Month, and in the process raise some money for the United Way.

I have pledged a certain amount to each student, and I’m hoping each one will individually match my pledge to him or her. We’re all going to try and write every day. My posts will be here; my students all have accounts in LiveJournal. I’m not going to link to them all because some are not comfortable with the world watching them do their homework, but I may link to some of them individually here, with their permission. I’ll post updates on how we’re doing, and you can follow along here, or on Twitter.

Help us out! Make a pledge in the comments; later on, I’ll post the easiest ways to send us donations.

Wish us luck!!

5 Responses

  1. Good luck!
    You inspired me to join NaBloPoMo too!

  2. This is one of the best ways to promote both writing and charitable giving that I can think of. How do the pledges work? Something like, I pledge to give you 50 cents for every post, so it would be $15 for the United Way by the end of the month?

    Jodi

  3. what a great idea Debbie. Good luck to you and your students. i am sure that they will be encouraged and enthused by this project.
    I’m a bit fuzzy on how to pledge, but I will try to sort that out.
    Kari

  4. Well, the way I’m doing it with my students is that I’ve pledged so much per post, but just a flat donation to the cause would work, too 😉 As Jodi said, you could pledge as much per post as would work out to what you felt like contributing. Anything would be welcome 😉

Leave a Reply

