On Sea Creatures and Sad Middle Age

Apparently there’s a story going around about Dick Van Dyke (yes, THAT Dick Van Dyke, and yes, I too was surprised to hear he’s still alive). He fell asleep on his surf board, drifted out to sea, and then was rescued by a pod of porpoises. Susan Orlean writes about it in her blog. Personally, I think he’s been reading too many Greek myths, and perhaps drinking too many margueritas… The Guardian writes “The porpoises were unavailable for comment.” Hee.

And on the opposite scale, here’s a guy who definitely needs a bigger boat. Yikes.

And in totally other news, much as I love Mike Leigh, I don’t think I’m going to be going to see his latest film. Can I just say that, as a happy, single-by-(mostly)-choice middle aged woman I am so effing sick of middle-aged spinsters being portrayed as needy, neurotic and desperate? I would have expected better.